Thomas A. Trikalinos

Associate Professor and Director

Tom works on novel methodologies for comparative effectiveness research, with emphasis on the steps of evidence synthesis (by means of systematic review and meta-analysis), and evidence contextualization (by means of decision and economic analysis). Tom and his colleagues strive to modernize and optimize the processes of evidence-based medicine by porting methodologies from computer science and applied mathematics.

email: thomas_trikalinos@brown.edu
web: http://research.brown.edu/myresearch/Thomas_A_Trikalinos
cv: curriculum vitæ (PDF)
github: page on GitHub


Joseph Lau

Professor and Co-Director

My research focuses on applying evidence-based methods to clinical/healthcare problems. I have long-standing interest in validating existing systematic review and meta-analysis methodologies and developing new ones to make the processes more efficient and the products more reliable. For the past 2 years, I have been developing a Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR) that could be used by researchers worldwide. I am also working with others to disseminate the methodologies of evidence-based practice beyond the immediate medical settings to other relevant scientific disciplines.

email: joseph_lau@brown.edu


Christopher H. Schmid

Professor

My research focuses on statistical methods for meta-analysis, the quantitative synthesis of information from observational and experimental studies. I am concentrating on developing methods and software for simultaneously comparing many treatments for a medical condition in order to determine which is best. I also develop models to enable doctors to work with patients to choose the best treatment through single patient experiments and models for predicting kidney function using multi-study data.

email: christopher_schmid@brown.edu
web: http://research.brown.edu/myresearch/Christopher_H_Schmid
cv: curriculum vitæ (PDF)


Byron C. Wallace

Assistant Professor (Research)

My research is primarily in machine learning/data mining/NLP, with an emphasis on applications in health informatics. I am interested in developing computational models that make sense of health-related information. This often entails developing novel machine learning/NLP methods. I am also interested in computational issues in evidence synthesis, broadly defined.

email: byron_wallace@brown.edu
web: http://www.cebm.brown.edu/byron
cv: curriculum vitæ (PDF)
github: page on GitHub


no image available

Issa J. Dahabreh

Assistant Professor (Research)

My work focuses on the synthesis of observational and experimental studies of therapeutic interventions and diagnostic tests. I am also interested in applied work on systematic reviews of treatments, medical tests, and risk factors for disease.

email: issa_dahabreh@brown.edu
web: https://research.brown.edu/myresearch/Issa_Dahabreh


Hailee Dunn

Manager



email: hailee_dunn@brown.edu


no image available

Meghan Ingerick

Program Assistant



email: meghan_ingerick@brown.edu


George Dietz

Programmer



email: george_dietz@brown.edu
github: page on GitHub


no image available

Jens Jap

Programmer



email: jens_jap@brown.edu


no image available

Nira Hadar

Research Associate




no image available

Chris Parkin

Senior Research Computer Scientist




no image available

Judy Daviau

Financial Coordinator




Bryant Smith

Research Assistant II

SRDR Team, Center for Evidence-based Medicine

email: Bryant_Smith@Brown.edu