Thomas A. Trikalinos

Associate Professor and Director

Tom works on novel methodologies for comparative effectiveness research, with emphasis on the steps of evidence synthesis (by means of systematic review and meta-analysis), and evidence contextualization (by means of decision and economic analysis). Tom and his colleagues strive to modernize and optimize the processes of evidence-based medicine by porting methodologies from computer science and applied mathematics.

email: thomas_trikalinos@brown.edu
web: http://research.brown.edu/myresearch/Thomas_A_Trikalinos
cv: curriculum vitæ (PDF)
github: page on GitHub


Joseph Lau

Professor and Co-Director

My research focuses on applying evidence-based methods to clinical/healthcare problems. I have long-standing interest in validating existing systematic review and meta-analysis methodologies and developing new ones to make the processes more efficient and the products more reliable. For the past 2 years, I have been developing a Systematic Review Data Repository (SRDR) that could be used by researchers worldwide. I am also working with others to disseminate the methodologies of evidence-based practice beyond the immediate medical settings to other relevant scientific disciplines.

email: joseph_lau@brown.edu


Christopher H. Schmid

Professor

My research focuses on statistical methods for meta-analysis, the quantitative synthesis of information from observational and experimental studies. I am concentrating on developing methods and software for simultaneously comparing many treatments for a medical condition in order to determine which is best. I also develop models to enable doctors to work with patients to choose the best treatment through single patient experiments and models for predicting kidney function using multi-study data.

email: christopher_schmid@brown.edu
web: http://research.brown.edu/myresearch/Christopher_H_Schmid
cv: curriculum vitæ (PDF)


Issa J. Dahabreh

Assistant Professor (Research)

My work focuses on the synthesis of observational and experimental studies of therapeutic interventions and diagnostic tests. I am also interested in applied work on systematic reviews of treatments, medical tests, and risk factors for disease.

email: issa_dahabreh@brown.edu
web: https://research.brown.edu/myresearch/Issa_Dahabreh


Ethan Balk

Assistant Professor (Research)

Ethan Balk, MD MPH, is Assistant Professor (Research) in the Brown University School of Public Health. For about 15 years, his research has focused on systematic review, evidence based medicine, meta-analysis, study quality assessment, and evaluation of literature. He has led numerous comparative effectiveness reviews, evidence reports, technologies, and other systematic reviews for the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-base Practice Center program, for other federal and international agencies, and professional organizations. His reviews have covered a breadth of clinical medicine and nutrition topics and areas including cardiovascular disease, diabetes, kidney disease, surgical interventions, prevention, diagnostic tests, dietary supplements, fatty acid intake, and micronutrients, among others. For about 11 years, he collaborated with the KDOQI and KDIGO kidney disease guideline development organizations, leading evidence review teams conducting systematic reviews and training workgroup members in the development of evidence-based guidelines. For about 6 years he has also assisted the Society of Gynecologic Surgeons Systematic Review Group to develop systematic reviews and clinical practice recommendations.

email: ethan_balk@brown.edu
web: https://vivo.brown.edu/display/ebalk


George Dietz

Programmer



email: george_dietz@brown.edu
github: page on GitHub


Bryant Smith

Research Assistant II

SRDR Team, Center for Evidence-based Medicine

email: Bryant_Smith@Brown.edu


Jenna Legault

Center and Research Project Manager



email: Jenna_legault@brown.edu


Stacey Springs

Program Manager



email: Stacey_springs@brown.edu


Jennifer Quiroz

Program Assistant



email: Jennifer_quiroz@brown.edu


Sarah Aneyci

Financial/Grants Coordinator



email: Sarah_aneyci@brown.edu


Jens Jap

Programmer



email: jens_jap@brown.edu


no image available

Chris Parkin

Senior Research Computer Scientist



email: Christopher_parkin@brown.edu


Gaelen Adam

Editor/Librarian/ Research Associate



email: gaelen_adam@brown.edu


Christopher Halladay

Research Associate



email: Christopher_halladay@brown.edu